DWI Defense in New York
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is not only dangerous to you, but other drivers as well. New York law enforcement officials are always on the lookout for irresponsible drivers. If you were stopped at a routine traffic stop or DWI checkpoint, you may have been subjected to a field sobriety test or breath test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). While most law enforcement officers have good intentions regarding removing intoxicated drivers from the road, sometimes Syracuse residents are subjected to illegal search and seizures or arrests that violate their rights. In the event that you were arrested and charged with a DWI, it is important that you retain the representation of a trusted criminal defense lawyer from Gunger Law Firm. We can fight to help lower your penalties, dismiss your case and protect your rights and driving privileges.
There are numerous different penalties that a convicted DWI offender may face, and depending on the specific circumstances of your case, your outcome may vary. At Gunger Law Firm, we are prepared to assist you in any type of situation. When you work with our firm as soon as possible after an arrest, we can aggressively defend your driving privileges at a DMV hearing as well as a criminal trial. New York laws governing DWI can be difficult to understand and penalties can be extremely harsh. If you are convicted, your penalties may reflect the following:
First-time offenders are required to pay up to $1,000 in fines and face a minimum of 1 year in jail. Your license will be suspended for a minimum of 6 months.
A second-time offense is charged as a felony and you could spend a maximum of 4 years in jail, be forced to serve 30 days of community service and have your license suspended for a minimum of one year.
A third offense is also a felony charge, and you can face up to 7 years in jail, 1-year minimum of a license suspension, and be required to pay up to $10,000 in fines.
Determining Factors of a DWI Case
The penalties you may be facing will vary depending on the specific circumstances of your case, which is why it is so important that you retain the representation of an attorney. Regardless of whether it is your first, second or third offense, if you have a child under the age of 16 in the car with you at the time of your arrest, your penalties will increase. Also, New York is an implied consent state, so refusing a chemical test can result in the automatic suspension of your license – whether you are sober or not. The BAC number you blew on a breath test can also play a factor in your penalties. Underage DWI offenders will face unique penalties and charges. In any situation, the best way to achieve a positive outcome for your case is to work with an experienced attorney. At Gunger Law Firm, we are prepared to fight for your case and ensure that your rights are protected.
To discuss DWI issues with Gunger Law Firm, contact our firm at 315.253.2288